Historic Landmarks

  • The Raymond Library was built in 1929 on land donated to the city for a library. The neo-Tudor building was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1979.

    Prior to the establishment of Timberland Regional Library, the Raymond library was the headquarters for the Pacific County Library District.

  • The post office in Raymond, Washington.

  • This historic venue sits in downtown Raymond, Washington, at the mouth of the Willapa River. Whether you're in Pacific County or Grays Harbor County along the Cranberry Coast, it's worth the short, scenic drive to Raymond to take in a movie, enjoy live music or see local theatrical production. Most days there's something exciting happening here, but the building alone is a worth a stop.

  • Bed & Breakfast in South Bend, Washington.

  • The Courthouse has undergone minor remodeling during its history but essentially remains unchanged from the day it was built. The one exception was the cleaning and restoration of the art glass dome. Seventy years of accumulated dust and deteriorating soldering were finally ordered repaired in the spring of 1980. The price tag was $144,700, nearly $13,000 more than the cost of constructing the whole building in 1910.

  • The Lumber Exchange Building was a building located on U.S. Route 101 in South Bend, Washington. It was built in 1907 and added to the National Register of Historic Places on May 19, 1988.

  • The South Bend Library is a Carnegie library which was built in 1913. The residents of South Bend voted to annex to Timberland for library services in 2003.

  • To see, in a small way, what Oysterville looked like in the old days, walk down Clay Street opposite the church to the edge of the bay and look back toward the village. You will see the fronts of the old homes which were built facing the bay. The street directly in front of the church, Territory Road, was once called 4th Street; Main Street was about where the easterly white picket fence is now; 1st Street was about where the easterly wire fence is near the bay; and Front Street has been consumed by the tide.

  • Historic landmark near Long Beach, Washington.

  • Klipsan Beach was the site of a station of the United States Life-Saving Service. The station buildings still remain, although they are privately owned. The station is on the National Register of Historic Places. The station's name was originally Ilwaco Beach, and only later became known as Klipsan Station. The station was one of several assigned to protect the area known as the Graveyard of the Pacific.

  • The Shelburne Country Inn Bed and Breakfast near Long Beach, Washington is a true American classic boutique hotel. Its location in the small town of Seaview, just east of the Pacific Ocean in southwest Washington State on the Long Beach Peninsula, has a timeless appeal. It was originally established in 1896 as a retreat for visitors from Portland, Oregon, and has operated continuously since its inception, which makes it the oldest continuously operating hotel in the State of Washington.

  • Historic building in Pacific County, Washington.

  • On May 16, 1898, the North Head Lighthouse was put into service as the primary navigation aid at the mouth of the Columbia River. The Cape Disappointment lighthouse had served this function since Oct. 15, 1856; however, ships continued to run aground at the "Graveyard of the Pacific." Due to the sheer number of shipwrecks, it was determined a second lighthouse was needed on the northwestern spur of Cape Disappointment, commonly referred to as North Head.

    Today, the North Head Lighthouse still stands as a sentinel overlooking this treacherous body of water, the confluence between the Columbia River and Pacific Ocean. The North Head Lighthouse is still an active aid to navigation, although the lighthouse keepers who once tended the flame have been replaced by an automated beacon. The lighthouse offers sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean, Long Beach Peninsula, Columbia River Bar and the northern Oregon Coast.

  • Cape Disappointment State Park (formerly Fort Canby State Park) is a 1,882-acre camping park on the Long Beach Peninsula, fronted by the Pacific Ocean. The park offers two miles of ocean beach, two lighthouses, an interpretive center and hiking trails. Visitors enjoy beachcombing, ship watching and exploring the area's rich natural and cultural history. The nearby coastal towns of Ilwaco and Long Beach feature special events and festivals spring through fall.

  • Historic building in Pacific County, Washington.

  • Chinook Point is a headland in Pacific County, Washington. Captain Robert Gray, the first non-native to enter the Columbia River, saw the river from Chinook Point in 1792. His explorations gave the United States a strong position in its later territorial contests with Great Britain.

  • Fort Columbia State Park is a 593 acre day-use historical park located at the Chinook Point National Historic Landmark and along 6,400 feet of freshwater shoreline on the Columbia River. Within the park are original U.S. Army Coastal Artillery fort buildings and batteries, active from 1896 to 1947. This area was also home to the Chinook Indian Nation and their famed Chief Comcomly, and explored by Robert Gray and the Lewis and Clark expedition.

  • Historic building in Pacific County, Washington.

  • The Grays River Covered Bridge is a one-lane wooden covered bridge over the Grays River in western Wahkiakum County, Washington. The bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is the only covered bridge still in use by the public in Washington State. The bridge rests as the centerpiece of the Alhberg Park in Wahkiakum County. The park hosts the Grays River Covered Bridge Festival every two years.

  • Historic landmark in Pacific County, Washington.

  • Historic church in Pacific County, Washington.

  • The Flippin House National Historic Site locally and affectionately known as The Castle is build high on a hill above the town of Clatskanie on Highway 30 just 60 miles from Portland and 35 miles from Astoria. The original owners of The Castle were Thomas and Florence Flippin who established the West Oregon Lumber mill where Tom began saving the best lumber for the grand house he was determined to build in Clatskanie. When their children were old enough to go to school, they purchased property adjacent to the school and construction began on this Victorian-style mansion in 1898. The Flippin family, which included two sons and a daughter, moved in to the house in 1900. To Thomas Flippin, building this house represented his moving up in society as a prosperous lumber man, but to his wife Florence, who had also worked in their lumber company; it represented a refined way of life that she disliked. After living there only three years, the couple moved out, and then separated. Later owners of The Castle included the Hempel and Holman families. For many years in the middle part of the 20th century, The Castle was divided into apartments. In the early 1970’s it was purchased by George and Ann Salmi and was sold to the Clatskanie Senior Citizens Inc. in 1979 who own it today.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • The Astoria Column has served for over 80 years as a beacon on the Pacific Northwest Coast. It sits in a wooded area 600 feet above sea level on Coxcomb Hill, Astoria, Oregon’s highest point. Majestic views of the countryside surrounding Astoria are the great Pacific Ocean to the west and the mighty Columbia River to the north. Snow-capped volcanoes of the Cascade Range rise to the east and Saddle Mountain reaches to the sky on the southern horizon. The story behind the Column, its deterioration and rescue by the Friends of Astoria Column, rivals the history it depicts. Learn more about its past and become part of its future by highlighting the topics on the left side of this screen.

  • Today, the Columbia River Maritime Museum’s reputation for the quality of its exhibits and the scope of its collections makes it one of the finest maritime museums in the nation. It was the first museum in Oregon to meet national accreditation standards, and has been designated the official state maritime museum of Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Objects on display include a 1,000 year old hunting implement, finely crafted 19th century Chinook and Clatsop Indian baskets, and a sea otter pelt and beaver hat which illuminate the early history of Fort Astoria. Logging and fishing, the two economic mainstays since 1870, are represented in collections of tools, equipment, and photographs. The stories of the many diverse ethnic groups that settled in the area are depicted in the Emigrants Gallery.

  • The history of Grace Episcopal Church in Astoria, Oregan began in 1838 with the visit of the first Anglican missionaries to the area. Twenty four years later, on September 4, 1864, The Reverend Thomas A. Hyland took up the considerable challenge of being the first Episcopal rector on the north coast of Oregon, serving from 1864 to 1878.

  • The history of Grace Episcopal Church in Astoria, Oregan began in 1838 with the visit of the first Anglican missionaries to the area. Twenty four years later, on September 4, 1864, The Reverend Thomas A. Hyland took up the considerable challenge of being the first Episcopal rector on the north coast of Oregon, serving from 1864 to 1878.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Fort Astoria (also named Fort George) was the Pacific Fur Company's primary fur trading post in the Northwest, and was the first American-owned settlement on the Pacific coast of what was to become the United States. After a short two-year term of US ownership, the British owned and operated it for 33 years. It was the first British port on the Pacific coast of the Americas. Control of Fort Astoria was a factor in the British and the Americans' resolving their disputed claims to the Oregon Country.

  • As one of the best preserved examples of Queen Anne architecture in the Northwest, the Flavel House survives today as a landmark of local and national significance. The house was built in 1884-85, for Captain George Flavel and his family. The Captain, who made his fortune through his occupation as a river bar pilot and through real estate investments, built the Flavel House as his retirement home at the age of 62. The Flavel House has been restored to accurately portray the elegance of the Victorian period and the history of the Flavel family.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • The Clatsop County Circuit Court is housed in an historic courthouse in the county seat of Astoria, Oregon.

  • The Oregon Film Museum celebrates the art and legacy of films and film-making in the State of Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Astoria, Oregon.

  • Fort Stevens was the primary military defense installation in the three fort Harbor Defense System at the mouth of the Columbia River (Forts Canby and Columbia in Washington were the other two). The fort served for 84 years, beginning with the Civil War and closing at the end of World War II. Today, Fort Stevens has grown into a 4,200 acre park offering exploration of history, nature, and recreational opportunities.

  • Explore the timeless rainforests and majestic coastal vistas. Discover the rich heritage of the Native people. Unfold the dramatic stories of America's most famous explorers.

    The Park encompasses sites along the Columbia River and the Pacific Coast. Follow the explorer's footsteps and have an adventure in history.

  • Located near Astoria, Oregon.

  • Located in Gearhart, Oregon.

  • 20 unique shops surrounding a full size working carousel. The mall offers dining, snacks, coffee, specialty gifts, art, imports, games, clothing, jewelry, toys, candies, ice cream, old time photos & portraits, beads, and much more.

  • Located in Seaside, Oregon.

  • Located in Seaside, Oregon.

  • Located in Seaside, Oregon.

  • Located near Vernonia, Oregon.

  • Located in Neahkahnie Beach, Oregon.

  • Located in Neahkahnie Beach, Oregon.

  • Cape Meares State Scenic Viewpoint is located 10 miles west of Tillamook, Oregon on the north end of the beautiful Three Capes Scenic Route. The park is open daily, throughout the year, from 7 am to dusk with no day use fee. The trail head to the Big Spruce, Oregon's largest Sitka Spruce, is located near the park entrance. Features within the park include Cape Meares Lighthouse, an informational kiosk, interesting viewpoints where visitors can view off-shore rocks for native birds and the annual whale migration, the Three Arch Rocks National Wildlife Refuge, nature trails, and the Octopus Tree, an Oregon Heritage Tree. A picnic area that can accommodate small groups is located adjacent to the parking area plus picnic tables are situated in the center of the parking circle.

  • Located in Tillamook, Oregon.

  • See one of America's finest collections of over 30 magnificently restored warbirds including our P-38 Lightning, F4U-Corsair, P51-Mustang, PBY Catalina and SBD Dauntless dive bomber. Explore our Exhibit Hall with rare wartime and aviation artifacts! Have lunch at our 40/50's Café. Enjoy shopping in our aviation gift shop. All housed in a rare World War II Blimp Hangar...the largest wooden structure in the world!